5/5 Stars - VRBO

Two thumbs up!

We enjoyed 5 wonderful nights at Shadowland River Lodge. It was the perfect home base for us to enjoy sites in the TC area, and to also take advantage of the beautiful setting along the Boardman River! Sitting around the fire pit with a glass of wine and listening to the river was awesome – and a great break to just chill and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Jason and Nicole graciously met us when we arrived and introduced us to their lovely home. The online pictures represent the house very well and we couldn’t have been more pleased with our choice to stay there. As vacation home owners ourselves, we appreciated all of the attention to details and amenities to make sure we had everything needed to enjoy the stay. We’d love to return one day in the winter as I’m sure it’s gorgeous after a nice snowfall. If only we’d caught a fish in the river…!

Mike C. - 09/11/2020

 

5/5 Stars - VRBO

Great location

The owners are very kind and met us upon arrival. We found this a very nice touch. The outside property is great for campfires and the creek was fun to catch frogs and fly fish. Great area for kids and adults. Close to lakes and town.

Mark C. - 08/24/2020

5/5 Stars - VRBO

Can't Wait to Go Back!

The owners are warm and welcoming, the property is beautiful, and the cabin is clean and well-stocked. Would highly recommend!

Anonymous - 08/18/2020

5/5 Stars - VRBO

Simple Pleasures!

This VRBO experience was wonderful! My husband and I took our dog and four college- aged kids to this cabin and really enjoyed it. Having coffee by the river was such a peaceful way to start the day. We had breakfast as a family and then the kids launched the kayaks right from the property and were off on their adventures! We fished, hiked Sleeping Bear Dunes, and swam in Torch Lake. We ended the day with campfires. Was such a great way to escape and reconnect. Hosts were very accommodating.

Diane F. - 08/14/2020

5/5 Stars - VRBO

GLEF Week

We had such a lovely stay at the Shadowland River Lodge.We were in Traverse City for the Great Lakes Equestrian Fest. It was so great to be 15 minutes from the show grounds plus 15 minutes from downtown TC. The property was beautiful and having a campfire next to the river each night was such a plus after a long day at the show grounds. Jason and Nicole had everything we needed for a great week in TC. They really take pride in the property and were very responsive when we had a couple of questions.

Rachael - L. - 07/27/2020

5/5 Stars - VRBO

Excellent Property

This was a great family get away, we all loved the location and the cabin on the river. Thank you for being great hosts :)

Bonnie J. - 07/21/2020

5/5 - Stars - VRBO

Great cabin

We had an awesome time at the Shadowland River Lodge! Beautiful property and so much to do. And just a short drive to Travers City! We will definitely be going back!

Amy N. - 7/11/2020

5/5 Stars - VRBO

Tranquil Getaway

My family spent the week here over the Fourth of July and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquility that comes along with staying in a log cabin on the Boardman River. This is a fairly secluded location on a large, mostly wooded parcel, but 15-30 minutes from most places around Traverse City and Elk Rapids, the best of both worlds. I say mostly wooded, but there is plenty of space cleared and well maintained for camping, enjoying the river frontage, playing basketball, soccer, catch, etc. On the property, we caught rainbow trout in the river, kayaked from the adjacent state park, relaxed by the fire pit at night, and explored the woods. Outside of the property, we visited a winery, spent an afternoon at an orchard/cider mill, spent the day at the beach in Elk Rapids, and hung out in Traverse City (among other activities). Jason, our very friendly and accommodating host, met us at the cabin when we arrived and showed us around. The cabin was clean, very comfortable, and had just about everything we needed. Overall, we had a very nice stay. Note that the cabin does not have air conditioning, but even with 90 degree days in July, the cabin was comfortable to sleep in at night with a fan. Also, the Boardman River stretch between the cabin and the adjacent state park launch has a quick current and is in a natural state with downed trees, beaches, rocks, and riffles. While this makes for great fish habitat, if you aren’t an avid kayaker or don’t mind getting a little banged up, I would recommend launching from the state park and floating to Ranch Rudolf or the next public launch a few more miles downstream from the park.

Frederick D. - 7/6/2020
 

5/5 - Stars - VRBO

Great respite with the kids and dog!

Very clean and comfortable home. My children and I really enjoyed a bit of rest and relaxation! Thank you

Mairead M. 6/18/2020

4/5 - Stars - VRBO

Relax and get away

Original log cabin in the woods. Perfect for a long weekend to unplug. We really enjoyed the fireplace and snowshoeing in the woods. Seems like the owners have thought of just about everything.
Jeff F.  - 02/17/2020

5/5 - Stars - VRBO

Amazing spot on the Boardman

Everything about the property is perfect. The owners were great and met us at check in. They walked us through the whole property and even gave us the history, which we really appreciated. The house is well apportioned and suited our needs beyond expectations. The location is second to none, literally right on the Boardman. There are several great holes that should be full of Brookies come spring right in front of the property. We’ve already booked our stay for next year.

Sean G. - 11/03/2019

5/5 - Stars - VRBO

Great Stay!

Jason and Nicole were great! They met me there and walked me through what was offered there. The lodge is even better than the pictures. Everyone who stayed there loved it. The outdoor experience was perfect. Between the Boardman River just feet away and the bonfires we had. I think everyone could agree that this was one of the best places we stayed for a family get together. Would do it again in a heartbeat!

Tim L.  - 10/29/2019

5/5 - Stars - VRBO

Loved the location. Very relaxing. Highly recommend. Would stay again.

Place was extremely clean and we'll decorated. Has a very traditional cabin feel to it (which is a good thing). It's nice sitting around a campfire or fireplace at night and watching the river in the morning with a cup of tea. The host was extremely nice and even left a gift box. The only suggestion I would have is be mindful of the door to the loft. It's easy to lock yourself out of the room. No fault of the owner, just something to be aware of as there isn't a key to unlock it on site. Highly recommend this home!

Dylan I.  - 10/21/2019

Text Message

Good morning Jason.  We will be leaving this morning...dont want to!  What a beautiful place!  This is for sure a very special home. Thank you for the stay...so relaxing, clean, the amenities, and the grounds are unbelievable!  Many walks (even with the wild weather) makes this stay even more relaxing.  And also thank you for the Cherry Republic box and wine. Sooo very special, all of it!  Take care and it was a privilege staying here!

Dan K.  - 10/17/2019
 

5/5 - Stars - VRBO

Beautiful riverside retreat

My husband and I spent a long 4 day weekend with our dog at this wonderful cabin. It was decorated beautifully, and came fully supplied with toiletries, linens, kitchenware etc. The owners, Jason & Nicole, met us at the cabin and gave us a brief yet thorough tour of the property and it’s amenities. The property site is in a huge clearing of the woods, set upon the bank of the Boardman River. We spent many hours sitting in chairs by the riverside, just relaxing and watching/listening to the water flow. It was exactly what we needed! We didn’t have a bonfire outside, but enjoyed a crackling fire inside every night. Multiple cords of wood were already cut and waiting for us. The cabin is amazing. The bed was so comfortable, and the walk-in shower was huge! The drive into Traverse City wasn't’ t too far, and we enjoyed a great meal at Red Ginger. Another night we went to dinner at LochenHeath golf club’s restaurant, where our friend Chef Eric Nittolo whips up a great menu. We also ate at two places close to the cabin that the owners recommended- McGee’s & Peegeeo’s. Both places were delicious. We loved this rental, and highly recommend it! We were excited to be the first renters, and hope to experience many more tranquil weekends at the Shadowland River Lodge.

Tamara G.  - 10/13/2019

Mailing Address

P.O. Box 7045

Traverse City, MI  49696

Contact Us

TEL: 231-922-2200  

E-MAIL: Jhulet@aol.com

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

© 2020  Shadowland River Lodge, LLC