top of page

These are our recent reviews on VRBO.
They are posted as they are given - they are not cherry picked!

 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

A wonderful get away!

My husband and I were looking for a quiet get-away with our Golden Retreiver to celebrate 40 years of marriage. We were greeted upon our arrival by Jason (the owner) to show us around the place. Jason was very thorough and even left us a bottle of chilled wine to celebrate our 40th. The cabin along the shallow river was perfect for us to unwind to settle in and enjoy nature. Everything was considered and the place was very clean and well equipped. The cabin itself is beautiful and cozy. Our dog loved the river and we loved watching him enjoy himself. Thank you Jason (and Nicole) for sharing your lovely place.

Robert M. - 6/1/2024

 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO
Relaxing

A beautiful cabin, such a relaxing peaceful place. Plenty of items present to make your stay memorable. Would definitely stay again.

Kathleen K. - 5/14/2024
 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO
Favorite place

Beautiful perfect peaceful fun and everything in between.

Abbas K. - 4/26/2024 
 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO
Wonderful cottage and property

We had another terrific time at Shadowland. The cottage is cozy, clean and has a classic up north charm and feel. Jason and Nicole have thought of everything to make our stay comfortable. The fireplace was loaded with wood ready for our first fire when we arrived. They also were quick to answer any question we had prior to our stay. The property is beautiful and secluded. We loved having fires in the fire pit while listening to and exploring the river. We loved the seclusion yet also enjoyed being only 20 minutes to Traverse City. We definitely will be back.

 Eric B. - 3/30/2024
 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO
Perfect

The host met us, had a fire set to be lit, showed us the place. Truly a comfy, beautiful setting. Kitchen had everything we needed. Nice big shower, comfortable bed. Many books, games and puzzles. Very warm and relaxing. Couple of excellent blue tooth speakers! Only problem....do we watch the fire or the river? One of the best places we've stayed.

Jeff W. - 1/21/2024

 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO
Perfect getaway!

This was our fourth stay at Shadowland, and it was once again a wonderful experience! Jason and Nicole are always gracious hosts, and the property is perfect. The cabin is secluded in the wood, but only 20 to 25 minutes from downtown Traverse City. The property affords many outdoor activities and areas to decompress and listen to the river. Our family can’t wait to go back!

Matthew C. - 1/7/2024
 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO
The Best Fall Getaway!

This was my third year in a row staying at Shadowland River Lodge and somehow, it just gets better every year! The property is so beautiful and relaxing and you just feel your stress melt away as soon as you arrive. Plus there are so many fun things to do in the area with the wine peninsulas and great restaurants. Jason and Nicole are the best hosts and just make the experience all the better. Already looking forward to my visit next Fall.

Amy M. - 10/20/2023
 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Peaceful retreat

This was our second stay at Shadowland. We love the tranquil setting and classic cabin feel. We really enjoyed relaxing by the huge fire as autumn descended this week. Jason is so responsive but we really had everything we needed for a fun, relaxing weekend away. Thanks for another wonderful stay!

Tamara M. - 10/10/2023
 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Our Favorite Vrbo Stay

Our overall experience at Shadowland River Lodge was perfect. I can’t say enough good things about this vrbo stay—the log cabin is amazing and the hosts were very warm, welcoming and responsive. First, we were really impressed with how well the grounds are kept. Several Adirondack chairs and picnic tables are tastefully placed throughout the property, giving it a true resort feel. Then the log cabin itself—it is a gem, beautifully decorated with comfortable leather furniture and a large television with access to Netflix & Prime—it’s all there without an extra fee. Everything, inside and out, is clean. Good Wi-Fi. Good beds. And a gorgeous, huge fireplace. My fisherman husband, dog, grandson and I had a blast. It’s so relaxing and beautiful here and we just wanted to stay forever! We also really appreciated and thank the hosts for the many thoughtful touches never before experienced in a vrbo rental—wood set in the fire pit for a bonfire with extra wood nearby, a sign in the cabin welcomed us, a bottle of wine with 2 chilled glasses placed in the fridge, and a very unexpected touch—no checkout instructions. Just like in a hotel, we could simply leave and lock the door behind us without having a list of cleanup chores. Our time spent at this riverside cabin was our favorite vrbo stay. We were so happy with our decision to stay here and will absolutely return! Thank you so much to Jason and Nicole for sharing this magical retreat!

Gina S. - 10/2/2023

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO
Relaxing

Its always relaxing and a pleasure to stay at Jason and Nicole's property. Being able to let our toddler and dogs run safely makes us very happy. There is no stress with Jason and Nicole. Thanks again and see you for year 3! Appreciative, Rob, Lyssa, toddler B, and pups.

Lyssa A. - 10/3/2023

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO
Should Be In A Magazine

The best thing is the 100 foot pines.Beautiful property. Well manicured large area including river.The cabin is wonderful and authentic and styled to feel like the 1930’s while providing every modern comfort. We had a great time there. Almost perfect except for a little road noise. We are very glad we stayed there.

Steve P - 9/23/2023

 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO
Very Relaxing, Cute Cabin

Upon arrival Jason was very welcoming. He showed us ins and outs of the cabin and made sure we had everything we needed. We spent the week doing puzzles and enjoying the river. The location is about a 13 minute drive from downtown TC. The best part about the cabin was that they let us bring our dog. She loved going in the river and chasing frogs. This was really her vacation. Kitchen was fully stocked! We had all the tools to make homemade pizzas and breakfast burritos. We would love to visit again.

Jessica D. - 9/6/2023 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO
Working vacation

Had to come up to Traverse City for work and wanted a place to stay with my dogs. This was absolutely perfect - river for my dog to play in and solid wifi for me to work. Great yard, great cabin with everything you need. Jason and Nicole were awesome. They met me at the cabin, showed me around, and explained how everything worked. The only downside is that the cabin is close to a busy road and the traffic noise can be a bit distracting. All in all, great stay and I would definitely rent again!

Angela A. - 8/31/2023

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Beautiful,one of a kind authentic log cabin stay!

This property has to be one of the most unique well cared for properties I have ever stayed at. The owners have thought of every single need. They take meticulous care of every detail! WE will be back again.

Michalene N. - 8/27/2023

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Amazing Hosts and Property

Jason and Nicole are the best hosts we have ever worked with. They were super flexible and accommodating of our family's needs. We have stayed in several VRBOs throughout the years and they definitely go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay. The cabin and the property are incredible. I am not sure who enjoyed it more the humans or our dog, She loved it all! The cabin has everything you need and the property is beautiful. The location is great as you can get to Traverse City and surrounding areas pretty easily and relatively quickly. We hope to make it back there one day!

Elisabeth H. - 8/18/2023
 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Amazing Cabin Vacation

We spent 8 days and it was amazing. The cabin is cozy and clean and just a perfect family setting. The kitchen has everything I needed to make breakfast. The grill was perfect for when we didn’t want to go out for a meal. The fire pit was perfect for s’mores and keeping us warm while we stayed up late to stargaze. And my favorite part was drinking my coffee in the morning while sitting next to the river. Our vacation was in August and I would return in summer and would to love to experience other seasons as well. Jason and Nicole were the best hosts you could ask for without question. This was everything I hoped it would be. My husband and 2 kids were thrilled.

Sara B. - 8/20/2023

✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Amazing Hosts and Property

Jason and Nicole are the best hosts we have ever worked with. They were super flexible and accommodating of our family's needs. We have stayed in several VRBOs throughout the years and they definitely go above and beyond to make sure you enjoy your stay. The cabin and the property are incredible. I am not sure who enjoyed it more the humans or our dog, She loved it all! The cabin has everything you need and the property is beautiful. The location is great as you can get to Traverse City and surrounding areas pretty easily and relatively quickly. We hope to make it back there one day!

Liz H. - 8/19/2023

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Charming Property

Second time at this property and it is one of our favorites. It has everything that we need. It is a secluded oasis yet and conveniently located to Traverse area. Jason and Nicole are great hosts.

Carrie T. - 8/6/2023

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Wonderful family vacation

We had an amazing time here on family vacation! Very clean, spacious cabin close to traverse city.

Heather B. - 7/22/2023 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO
Cozy Getaway

We LOVED Shadowland River Lodge! It was our first time staying in Traverse City and the cabin was so close to many places we visited throughout our week there. It is the perfect place to come “home” to after a busy day of exploring. Total peace and relaxation while you are on the property, whether it be sitting near the riverside, making a fire in the fire pit, or letting the cool Michigan breeze brush your face as you lay on the hammock. Jason & Nicole have the perfect place for a family vacation - cabin is stocked with everything you need from kitchen & bathroom items to games and puzzles. Our daughters and pup loved the place too! It is so clean, you would wouldn’t think they allow pets! Highly recommend!!! We will be back again to visit for sure! Thank you for sharing your beautiful place!

Brant & Christian W. - 7/18/2023

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Little Gem on the River

Jason and Nicole have a wonderful cabin right on the river. We enjoyed our stay over the 4th of July week and the Traverse City fireworks were amazing. About a 15 minute drive into town, cabin had everything we needed. Really picture perfect setting. Very clean and beds were comfortable. Went tubing thru Ranch Rudolf right up the road. Lots to do in the area. Highly recommended!

Christina N. - 7/9/2023

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Perfect family vacation

Wow!! We wanted a family vacation where we could take our dog with us. Shadowland did not disappoint. Jason was kind enough to set up a kennel for our dog. He met us at the cabin when we arrived and showed us around. The cabin was beautifully decorated. We spent so much time looking around enjoying all there was to see. The scenery outside was breathtaking and the creek was everyone’s favorite. Arlo and the kids spent hours catching frogs and playing in the water. The basketball hoop and hammock was also a family favorite. We had a fire pit every night. The cabin was stocked with everything you would need and more. We will be staying here again when we come back to Michigan. Thank you.

Nancy H. - 7/2/2023

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Peaceful River Retreat

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shadowland cabin. It was a rustic, vintage cabin with all of the modern amenities. Plenty of room and was extremely well stocked. We lazied on the river and enjoyed family campfires along with shopping and dining in traverse city which was a short drive away. Our hosts, Nicole and Jason, made sure we understood all of the ins and outs of the cabin so that we could start enjoying it! And when an unexpected accident happened (away from the cabin) and required a family member be hospitalized they were so accommodating and allowed us to stay an additional night to regroup. That was above and beyond, and our family is so grateful for their compassion. All in all it was a relaxing, fun family vacation! Thank you!

Jan P. - 7/2/2023

✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Shadowland River Lodge

Gorgeous property, perfect accommodations, excellent communication from the owners, relaxing outdoor areas

Timothy T. - 6/13/2023

✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Wonderful property; wonderful hosts

Shadowland River Lodge is a great place for gatherings with family and friends. Close enough to downtown Traverse City, but a world away from the crowds when you've had enough. There is plenty of room to spread out, relax, and enjoy all the natural beauty surrounding you. We all felt comfortable and at home here. Hosts Nicole and Jason Hulet are a big reason for this. They have the cabin stocked with plenty of everything, as if it were your own place. They are wonderfully attentive and responsive, and will help in any way they can. From kayak rental and fly fishing guide recommendations, to accommodating our early check-in request, they truly want their guests to enjoy their stay. An example of their commitment: the two bbq-type lighters on the property were near death and I was concerned about having the ability to light a fire on our last night since I had forgotten to bring any lighters or matches of my own. Jason offered to bring lighters out to us, but I refused, realizing I could probably light some kindling using the flame from the grill if necessary. However, shortly after that exchange I received a text from Jason letting me know that there were now two lighters in the mailbox at the street. He had driven out to the property anyway to be sure that we were covered. Above and beyond; just good people. In summary, our family had a fantastic time, and we look forward to our next stay this fall.

Scott G. - 5/30/2023 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Wonderful Cabin!!!!

My husband and I, along with our dog, stayed at this wonderful cabin for a few days. We absolutely luved it! . It was well equipped with every amenity that we needed or wanted! . We thought we would spend alot of time in Traverse city downtown area but after arriving we found we enjoyed just relaxing, sitting by the fire and going on long walks. Highly recommend this property for a relaxing getaway.

Nicolette A. - 5/20/2023

 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Wonderful stay!

My husband and I spent the weekend enjoying the wonderful cabin and used it as our base camp for day hikes on the North Country Trail and mountain biking on the Vasa Single Track, both trailheads are just minutes up the road. A well appointed and charming cabin with the most welcoming hosts!

Jenna T. - 5/16/2023

 

✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Beautiful, clean property. Amazing hospitality.

My husband and I had a wonderful time at Shadowland. Jason met us when we arrived and gave a quick tour, we felt very welcomed and at home. The cabin was clean, and very well stocked with anything we could have needed. An endless supply of wood was ready for the fireplace and the outdoor pit. The kitchen was well organized making it easy to find what we needed. The location was great, short drive to TC and east day trip over to Lake Michigan. We would highly recommend the cabin to anyone. Hoping to come again and bring our kids and dog!

Jessica C. - 4/16/2023
 

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Amazing cottage & property

Our stay at Shadowland was fantastic. Jason & Nicole are so nice and quick to answer any questions prior to check in. The property is even better than the pictures show, the cottage is charming and so comfortable - truly like home away from home. We can’t wait to return!

Eric B. - 3/31/2023
 

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Perfect long weekend getaway

My wife and I had an amazing time at Shadowland. This is truly a slice of paradise and we are very thankful to have been able to stay at such a beautiful and peaceful cabin. Jason and Nicole go above and beyond in communication if you have any questions, and the cabin is perfect and has everything you need. 5 star quality all the way. We got a bunch of snow during our long weekend and it was just a blast, our dog loved the grounds and all his adventures thru the woods :) Waking up to that river every day was the best, and the weekend went way too fast. We hope to be back in the future. Thanks again Jason and Nicole for such a memorable time.

Tony L. - 2/28/2023

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Amazing God Country

Me and a friend came up for a weekend with my German Shepherd. Jason made everything so convenient and easy as he walked us through his lovely place explaining where everything was and what we could do while we were there. It was so homey that we stayed in the first night and took a long walk through the woods, built a fire with all the wood and kindling that was provided and enjoyed the character and history of the cottage. We are definitely coming back!!!!!

Barb F. - 2/22/2023

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Fantastic Getaway Cabin

We loved our stay at this beautiful cabin. Everything was perfect. The property, cabin, fireplace, amenities were all just fantastic. We would love to stay here and explore in the summer months!

Luke N. - 1/29/2023

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Perfect Gateway

Can’t ask for a better host or place. The best!

Shawn M. - 1/23/2023

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Cozy Escape!

HEAVEN ❤️

Abbas K. - 1/7/2023

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Another fantastic family experience!

This was our third stay at Shadowland and our first during the winter. We thought Shadowland was beautiful in the Summer, but it is downright gorgeous with snow! The hosts, Jason & Nicole, are authentically vested in your positive experience and are readily available if needed. Those of you working remotely at the cabin can rely on lightning fast wifi. This has become our family's favorite destination-quietly secluded while still being close to Traverse City and other amenities. We have already booked our fourth stay and can't wait to return. Thank you Jason and Nicole for sharing Shadowland, a place of perfect happiness.

Rob C. - 1/12/2023

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

2nd stay and just as wonderful as the 1st!!

We stayed at Shadowland last winter and had to make a return trip this year again with our two pups. What a magical place in the winter. The cabin was decorated beautifully and the river was awesome to sit by and enjoy a few beverages. The hosts have consistently been fantastic and made sure our stays were perfect. We will continue to be return guests for as many years as we can!

Blake D. - 1/2/2023

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Our third trip

This Halloween weekend (2022) was our third trip up. Blessed to have such beautiful weather again. Jason and Nicole are wonderful hosts and always have everything ready to go on arrival. Shadowland River Lodge is becoming a family tradition for us. Thank you Jason and Nicole for sharing your wonderful lodge with us.

Bryan R. - 11/4/2022

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Perfect Fall Escape!

We just returned from another fabulous stay at Shadowland River Lodge! It has become a trip that we look forward to all year long. Jason & Nicole are the perfect hosts and communicate openly to make sure that their guests have everything they need and are comfortable. We got very lucky this year with some nice October weather and were able to really enjoy being outside on the property. My dogs were in heaven running around along the river. The house is in the perfect location to easily get into downtown Traverse City and to explore the local wineries and restaurants. I simply cannot say enough how enjoyable it is to stay this property and we are already looking forward to visiting again next year. Thank you so much for the warm hospitality, Jason and Nicole!

Amy M. - 11/13/2022

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Beautiful cabin and property

Great location and a cosy cabin. It was nice to wake up to the river each morning. The weather was not great during our stay but we fished the river and others in the area as well as hiking with the dogs. The mud room was very handy for going in and out with the dogs and to keep dog bowls, leashes and backpacks. The cabin was well stocked and clean. We had a fire each night and the dogs thought we were camping.

Jennifer L. - 10/22/2022

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Log Cabin Heaven

If you want the true log cabin experience, this is the place for you. The cabin was really nice, clean, and tidy with pretty much all the amenities you need. The river, along with the property, is very picturesque and the fireplace was the perfect place to gather and relax in the evening. Wonderful Hosts!!

Stefano C. - 10/17/2022

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Peace like a River!

There was so much charm in this property. The fall foliage, crisp fresh air, and rolling river were the perfect backdrop to this historic cabin, that piqued our imagination for its past, while soothing our spirits with modern day amenities.

Tara H. - 10/14/2022

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Wonderful

Jason and Nicole are thoughtful and a pleasure to rent from. They remembered it was our anniversary and got us a gift! They met us upon arrival and showed us how to make our stay comfortable. Traveling with dogs and a toddler is stressful and our stress left when we arrived at Shadowland! We taught our 2 year old how to fish, let our dogs play, and enjoyed wonderful family time with home-cooked meals. It was a stress reliever to enjoy the spacious shower, be able to wash our own clothes, and spend the night by the fire. Jason supplied an abundance of firewood. Next time we will have to stay longer! Thank you again Jason and Nicole, you are wonderful! We wish you continued success in bringing happiness into the world and helping families create memories! Appreciative, Rob, Lyssa, Braylen, Tex, Ezra, and Nadine!

Iyssa A. - 10/8/2022

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Tranquil, private historic cabin....little slice of heaven!

We can't say enough great things about this cabin! Hosts were so friendly. Met us upon arrival to go over everything & give us a little history of the cabin, which was super helpful. After a long week of road tripping the M22, it was so nice to spend a few days relaxing and just exploring the Traverse City area. This was the perfect home base. We even decided to skip going in to town one afternoon, just to hang out at the ranch and build a fire. We took a long walk and sat around the camp fire, right next to the river. Felt like you were out in the country, but only a few miles from town. Cabin was so cozy, and so well appointed! Even had a chilled bottle of wine waiting for us. We're huge National Park nerds and this felt like a lodge you'd find at one of the great NP's. The pictures are absolutely accurate. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay, and we will definitely be back!

Shannon W. - 9/29/2022

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Cabin by the Boardman.

Both inside and out, the property is just beautifully done. It’s easy to see that the owners care for every detail. I think that for anyone looking for a very comfortable cabin, you’ll be hard pressed to find a place in the area equal to this one.

Rod M. - 9/23/2022

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Everything was idyllic

We couldn’t have been happier with our stay! The cabin and property were beautifully maintained and featured such cool historical touches. Moreover, Jason and Nicole communicated so well and we’re incredibly accommodating. The overall experience was top-notch and we look forward to booking with them again in the future!

Tom G. - 9/19/2022

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Perfect getaway!

My husband and I were looking for a peaceful, relaxing getaway that was pet friendly and we found it at Shadowland River Lodge! The cabin was very clean and cozy and the hosts were great, Nicole was there to greet us and made us feel very welcomed. And after a day of sightseeing coming back and relaxing on the adirondack chairs right on the river with a glass of wine then going in for the evening and starting a roaring fire in that beautiful fireplace was pure bliss. We love it and hope to come back some day!

Carol D. - 9/12/2022

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Amazing experience, highly recommend!

Exceptional and unique property, great location, private. My husband and I were seeking a lake house in the area when we came across this property. I had some reservations but was so glad we chose this property. It was a magical looking at the night sky and stargazing by the fire while listening to the sounds of the river! The home was exceptionally decorated, the property was well cared for, lots of personal touches made it feel like home! The cabin was cool and clean and well equipped, The bed was comfortable and there were so many things to to do there that we spent a lot of time just enjoying the home and property rather than venturing out. When we did decide to explore, we realized were so close to all the area attractions. We spent some time on Torch Lake, Crystal Lake and visited Betsie’s lighthouse. We enjoyed some great dinners in Traverse City and loved visiting “Fish Town” and the local wineries. You will not find better hosts than Jason and Nicole! They were so kind and accommodating. Do not hesitate, rent this property, it will exceed your expectations!

Angela G. -  9/13/2022

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Wonderful cabin retreat!

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our first trip up north and had an excellent stay in this cabin. The owners greeted us and gave us a quick overview of the property. The cabin is comfy and equipped with everything you need for your stay. Our kids and our dog thoroughly enjoyed playing in the river, riding bikes, and evening bonfires. I loved that it was away from the hustle of downtown Traverse City, but just a short drive to the activities of town. We will certainly be back!

Joshua H. - 8/21/2022

 

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO
Lovely cabin on the river with so much to do!

We had an amazing experience with this property. Our 4 year old son and our dogs had a wonderful time exploring the property and playing in the river. Everything was provided that we needed plus more and it was a very comfortable stay. Oh AND - my pet peeve - Uber clean sheets, towels, pillows fresh - it was all on point. Thank you for opening your cabin to guests - we hope to stay again in the future!

Courtney T. - 8/17/2022

 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

A perfect getaway spot with everything

From the moment we arrived, we were impressed with everything. The hosts met us to give us the tour and were very welcoming. They answered any questions we had throughout the week and were always helpful. Everything was super clean, the kitchen was well stocked with dishes and supplies (even coffee!), and the whole property is gorgeous. Even the rainy days didn't seem so bad with such a comfortable place to stay and such a nice view along the river. All of us, including my 9 year old son, thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were a little disappointed when the week came to an end.

Christopher L. - 8/13/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Amazing place

Was incredible setting and so awesome being able to have our dogs with us. So close to everything you need or want to do. Everything you need they have thought of great owners who take pride in what they do.

Michael M. - 8/19/2022 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Family Vacation

The cabin, property, and weather was perfect. My wife, 3 grown kids and spouses had a wonderful time. We will definitely be back. This is a 6 out of 5 star rating. Thanks Jason.

John M. - 8/2/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Truly a tranquil and beautiful property

I can't say enough wonderful things about this property. It is absolutely gorgeous, and it was so lovely to stay here. The hosts were very helpful, and wonderfully accommodating. The peace found at this log cabin in the woods is unmatched and it was a blessing to have this shared with us.

Stephanie B. - 7/28/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Unique and beautiful property

We had the perfect stay. Well equipped, amazing space, and located just close enough to what we needed. Thank you for sharing such a neat place.

Carrie T. - 7/16/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Great time at shadowland

I stayed at the cabin with my family. We have 2 boys 5 and 8 and we brought our 3 dogs with us. We had an amazing time! My kids and dogs loved the river and property. The kitchen was well stocked, there were plenty of cozy blankets and towels. Having laundry on site is a definite plus. The host was great 👍 we loved our 8 night vacation. The location was close to torch lake, traverse city and more. We had lots of adventures ❤️ Thank you for having us.

Michelle D. - 7/22/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Wonderful cozy cabin.

Great place to stay, quite, clean with a lot to do. Would love to stay here again.

Scott B. - 6/29/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Riverlodge

Excellent property. Clean and convenient . They owner greeted us and showed us around, and was very helpful. I would definitely stay here again when we come back to town!

Matt B. - 6/27/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Great stay again!

As with our last stay at the property, we had a wonderful and memorable vacation. The hosts are fantastic and authentically care about your experience. The cabin location is the perfect balance between the city and solitude of the wilderness. 25 minute drive to the offerings of Traverse City all the while living in the woods listening to the Boardman river as it flows by. Short drives to the dunes, Shorts brewery, yak farms, lakes, trails, water sports, wineries etc! The Wi-Fi is so fast that I could conduct Microsoft Teams meetings while the family used there own bandwidth for activities. Great washer and dryer. Our active family came home with no dirty clothes. The kitchen is very well stocked and groceries are 20 minutes away. The cabin was very clean, and the AC worked perfectly during the hot days. We can highly recommend this property without reservation! We’ll be back again.

Matthew C. - 7/2/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Best trip never taken . . .

This will be an “unusual” review but one my husband and I feel strongly about. We reserved Jason and Nicole’s fabulous looking cabin for a few days trout fishing before a Board of Director’s meeting I had in Traverse City. Our pre visit communication was excellent - I asked if they offered a military discount (we are both vets) and indeed they refunded a percentage immediately. We were flying so could not bring our dog, but they also made it clear they are pet friendly and do NOT charge a pet fee - that is what we call really pet friendly. They even offered to shop for basics for us since we would arrive late. But the REAL reason we will book with the Hulets again (and probably again, etc.) is that when we tested positive for Covid the day before our trip, could not travel, and had to cancel the entire visit at the last minute - they did not even hesitate - they refunded our entire fee - immediately. Now THAT is a great host. So add to all the wonderful comments about the property, that the hosts are first class people as well!

Ann H. - 6/9/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Amazing!

Our family had an amazing get-away at Shadowland. The property itself is stunning. We enjoyed using the fire pit and fishing in the river, as well as playing games. The cabin is charming and spotlessly clean! For being pet friendly, it was immaculate. We enjoyed using the wood burning fireplace on chilly mornings. The kitchen was also well stocked. Great location, close enough to Traverse City and the lake. Convenient to grocery stores. We loved our time here and hope to make it back some day!

Amy S. - 6/15/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Excellent experience!

This property was exactly what we were looking for! Jason & Nicole were absolutely amazing hosts. They provided everything we could possibly need during our stay and more. Jason was kind enough to wait for us to arrive so he could show us the ropes (which was extremely helpful). The cabin was very comfortable and immediately felt like home. We tried some fly fishing but we must have been too early in the season since there weren't any fish in the river at the time but we still enjoyed walking up and down the river and the dogs enjoyed chasing the frogs. We would highly recommend this property to anyone who is looking to get away. It's quiet and remote but still has all the luxuries and amenities you could want if you chose to use them. Thanks again Jason & Nicole for sharing your hide-away with us and making us and our dogs feel welcome. We made some fantastic memories!

Tony P. -  6/8/2022

 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Our stay

Our family enjoyed the 4 night stay. Clean and plenty of supplies if needed. The kids had a great time and so much area to play for a 4 year old and 7 year old. When we were inside they were begging to go outside to play. The adults sat around an awesome bonfire right next to stream and in the morning we sat at the kitchen table and watched the deer pass thru the property. My favorite was rocking on the front porch and being blessed by all the hummingbirds. We are looking forward to another stay in the future ❤️

Jayme, B. - 5/21/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Great place

We went up for a soccer tournament in traverse city and this was a great place to stay for our big family. It was my wife and I and 4 kids. The place was awesome the best crib I’ve ever stayed at and I’ve stayed at quite a few. The owners thought of everything! I didn’t have to run to store for stuff once. I would highly recommend and it’s definitely worth the price compared to a hotel room. Thanks Jason!

Adam J. - 5/15/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Shadowland - April Visit

Wish we could give 6 stars. Everything was perfect, Nicole met us on our arrival and covered everything to make us feel at home and warmly welcomed. The cabin and property is wonderful. We can't wait to get back in July with all our adult children and spouses plus their fur babies. John and Diane

John M. - 4/18/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Exactly what we were hoping for!

My 3 (human) friends and I, plus our 4 small furry (canine) companions loved every minute of our stay at Shadowland. Jason and Nicole's cabin was perfect: cozy, warm, welcoming and well equipped. The check-in process and all communication was friendly and effortless. Bonus: Their huge property (40-some acres, I believe?) includes perfect dog-walking space. We will definitely return! Thanks again, Jason and Nicole, for your warm hospitality.

Michelle K. - 4/9/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Amazingly Perfect!

Jason and Nicole were the best hosts. We loved the property and the special care they took welcoming us. This will be a regular vacation home for us. We felt so at home and we can't wait to share this beautiful cabin with our entire family.

Freeman, J. - 2/21/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Perfect up north getaway

Fantastic location to rent. Nice wooded cabin experience, with a short ride to Traverse City makes it a perfect getaway. If it’s relaxing you are looking for or planning to hit the ski slopes or sand dunes I would definitely recommend this rental. The owners are amazing. They make you feel right at home. Checking in was the best I ever experienced on VRBO.

Shawn M. - 1/22/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Shadowland River Cabin

We had a great weekend celebrating our anniversary. The host, Jason, was awesome. He met us at the property and went through all the things that would help make our trip an excellent experience. He even left party favors for us to celebrate our anniversary. The cabin was clean and cozy and the fireplace and setting was beautiful. The only comment our friends had, who were staying in the living room area since there is only one bedroom, is that the mattress for the futon needs to be replaced. It was very uncomfortable. They also tried the lower bunk of the bunk beds but said it wasn’t much better. So for adults a nicer mattress would be appreciated. For kids, it’s probably fine. We would definitely stay here again! We had a great time. Thank you Jason for your hospitality!

Patricia S. - 1/16/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

A great place to gather with family and friends!

This is was our second time coming here. It's starting to feel like home 🤣. Love the decorating and the setting. Can't wait to try it out in the summer.

Erion L. - 1/3/2022

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Exceeded All Expectations

My wife and I stayed here with our two German Shepherds for a relaxing Christmas getaway! Needless to say, our expectations were exceeded- everything was perfect! The property was so peaceful with the river right beside the cabin and all of the beautiful acreage to walk on. Our dogs thoroughly enjoyed the property as well as it was very accommodating to them! The cabin was clean and cozy. There was MORE THAN enough firewood to use in the beautiful fireplace! The cabin was decorated perfectly for the holidays, which made it even more cozy! The property owners were very accommodating with great communication, making sure that we had a perfect stay! We are already planning our return visit to experience the cabin in warmer weather.

Blake D. - 12/20/2021

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Halloween get away

This is our second visit to Shadowland and everything was just as we expected on arrival. Jason and Nicole have made sure everything was perfect when we walked in the door, each time. Looking at returning for a winter get away.

Bryan R. - 11/1/2021

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Great family get away! Beautiful setting on the river and beautiful property.

Amazing host, met us at the property to make sure everything was in order. He even started a fire for us! Cozy cabin with everything we needed. Great hiking trails within easy driving distance. We were a bit early for the salmon run so couldn’t enjoy the river as much but it looks beautiful!

Anonymous - 10/23/2021

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO
Perfect Escape to Nature’s Paradise!

I just returned from an incredible week at Shadowland River Lodge. Jason and Nicole are the perfect hosts, meeting me briefly on arrival to walk through the property and make sure that I had everything that I needed to be comfortable for my stay. The house itself is so charming and rustic and the attention to detail is evident on every scale. The kitchen is so well-stocked and made staying in and cooking very enjoyable on a few of the nights. There are also an abundance of games and puzzles that will keep any age group entertained. I found that my favorite parts of the stay included sitting outside with coffee in the mornings on the water and relaxing inside at night in front of the cozy roaring fireplace. The land surrounding the property is just so serene and tranquil. My two dogs had a great time running and playing outside and were just as sad as me to have to leave. As far as the proximity to Traverse City, Shadowland River Lodge is close to everything that you could possibly want to do. We spent a few days doing the local wine tours and it was only a 20 minute drive (Uber and Lyft are easy to reserve) to the pick-up spot. It is also about the same distance to get to the little downtown area, where there are fabulous restaurants and shopping. I also spent a day at the beautiful Sleeping Bear Dunes, which is not too far away. If you are considering a stay at this property, I promise that you will not regret it. This is one of those experiences that just makes you want to come back again and again!

Amy M. - 10/19/2021

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

A true gem

It's hard to know where to start when there are so many wonderful things about Shadowland and our overall experience! We've stayed in many many vacation rentals over the years in many places and having a clean place is very important to us and immediately sets the tone for a place. Shadowland was absolutely spotless from the baseboards to all of the delightful accessories, to the light fixtures, to the kitchen utensils, pots pans, bathroom, and right down to the yard and front porch!!! Clearly Jason and Nicole have a very critical eye on detail and lovingly take excellent care of the property. Shadowland is not only visually appealing in ever aspect, but truly is an idyllic setting. There is a bit of traffic noise from a road you do not see, but the rest of the "package" outweighs that tradeoff. Shadowland is also extremely well appointed where again Jason and Nicole's eye for the details shows. Plenty of linens to include towels, about every appliance for the kitchen one would need and dishware. I can confidently say without a doubt you do indeed get what you pay for and then some with this vacation rental!! We love our campfires during vacation and had ample firewood to enjoy both inside and outside. The outdoor seating was terrific and yet again visually VERY appealing. Another glowing facet for this place. The location is in great proximity to so many things that the area has to offer. Or if you just want to hang out at Shadowland there is plenty of room to do that as well. We so appreciated being able to brings our dogs who thoroughly enjoyed splashing in the river and then basking in the sun or playing fetch in the yard, or hiking through the woods of the property. A great time to be had by all. We even got somewhat good at playing horseshoes ;) I could go on and on but let it suffice to say that this is a top notch place with top notch hosts who REALLY know their business in every aspect. Shadowland, Jason and Nicole are a perfect 10+++++ . Thanks for the opportunity to enjoy such a terrific place.

Ilene C. - 10/9/2021 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Anniversary Trip

We had a great experience. Jason was very informative. The house was exceptionally clean and cozy. We look forward to staying there again the next time we visit Traverse City. The property is beautiful!

Kurt S. - 9/21/2021

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Wonderful week away

The property is exactly as pictured on vrbo! The cottage is super clean with everything you could need for a week away from home. We had an excellent time relaxing by the river’s edge while our dog played in the water.

Todd D. - 9/10/2021

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Shadowland Lodge 2021

We had such an enjoyable stay at the cabin! The first night we had some of the loudest thunder roll over that I have ever heard. It was such a nice cozy place to watch the storms from. Our boys loved the hammock and fishing in the river. Our dogs were in heaven as well. Our little pup loved doing zoomies all around the cabin and our bigger dog loved running outside. The property has some natural boundaries that kept them close but still provides plenty of room to exercise. The hosts were flexible about check in and came over to give us a quick walk through as some of the lights and door handles are unique all adding to the character of the cabin. The location was excellent. We were close to everything we wanted to do, but it still had a nice middle of nowhere feel. Highly recommend this property and the hosts!

Elizabeth M. - 8/31/2021

 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Shadowland River Lodge

The Lodge is a great place in a fantastic setting. The cabin is very clean and has everything you need. The air conditioning unit kept the place nice and cool (it was very hot and humid during our stay). The river in front of the cabin is shallow and we were able to wade with our dog and enjoy the cool water. At check-in Nicole showed us were everything was and how it operated. One of the best VRBO places we've stayed at!

David W. - 8/28/2021

 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Simply perfect!

Jason & Nicole and their beautiful property were everything we hoped they would be and more! The cabin is comfortable, cozy, exquisitely decorated and has everything you will need for your stay. I loved having my morning tea down by the River…but our kids and 1yr old lab loved the river even more! We had bonfires, made s’mores, laid in the hammock and played basketball. And each day took a trip to a new town or area around traverse city. It was just what we needed before we kick off the school year again.

Sarah G. - 8/23/2021

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Beautiful and peaceful!

We enjoyed the time away to rest and recharge in a quiet location with an absolutely beautiful view of the river!! The cabin was super cozy even during a few stormy nights while we were here! Jason and Nicole were wonderfully welcoming, helpful, and great at responding to our messages! We enjoyed the cabin and our hosts very much!

Amber R. - 8/13/2021

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Amazing family weekend!

What a fabulous property! Our whole family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shadowland Ranch. The property is very-well maintained. We will be back!

Sarah K. - 8/8/2021

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Gorgeous property!

One of our favorite rentals to date...beautiful, well maintained property, super clean, extremely well appointed (they thought of dverything!) and close to everything! River was a bit high and fast due to rain, so we ventured to a beach one day and kayaker the Boardman Lake another. Hosts were very nice...you can tell they take pride in this gem!

Pamela J. - 7/31/2021

 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Riverside Relaxation on the Boardman

If you're looking for a great place to relax surrounded by nature, this is it. Shadowland River Lodge is a beautifully maintained cabin that sits along the banks of the Boardman River. You feel like you're out in the forest, but still only 20 minutes to downtown Traverse City. The grounds are set up for relaxation and fun, complete with a fire pit surrounded by several Adirondack chairs, a shady rope hammock, horse shoe pits, a basketball hoop, and an outdoor gas grill. If you happen to get a little rain, you can still enjoy a cup of coffee in the rocking chairs on the covered front porch, or in front of the beautiful river rock fireplace in the center of the original log cabin portion of the lodge. The lodge itself is set up with all the comforts of home including a fully stocked kitchen, dual head shower, washer dryer, air conditioning, wifi and satellite TV (although if you're only interested in sitting around and watching TV all day, stay at the Hampton Inn and leave this gem for the rest of us). By far, the best part of Shadowlands River Lodge are your hosts, Jason and Nicole. They personally met me at the Lodge for check in when I arrived. They took the time to tell the history of the property, toured inside and out and made sure I had everything I needed. During the booking phase, I had mentioned that I was going to have a few family members over for a birthday party for my father. They surprised me with a cake, a bottle of great local wine and balloons. They were so kind and thoughtful. I'd stay in a pup tent in the yard if they were my hosts! I really enjoyed my stay and look forward to booking here again.
Michael H. Austin, Texas - 7/27/2021

 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Magical cabin by the river

This 1929 cabin oozes with charm. There’s so many nice touches that it’s hard to narrow it down to just one thing that makes this place special. The hosts were warm and the communication was excellent. Our check in process was really nice, as the hosts gave us a little tour (as the cabin has a few additions over the years which adds some eccentricity to the property). There’s everything one needs for a comfortable stay - towels, washer and dryer, a well stocked kitchen, comfortable beds: just need your own groceries. The cabin is tucked away, yet not far from Traverse City and the surrounding beauty of Michigan. This is truly a special place to stay.

Jessica K. - 7/17/2021

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Great stay

Beautiful property, it's exactly as the photos show. We also had 2 dogs with us and they couldn't have been happier

Dennis M. - 6/27/2021

 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Perfect Place

The cabin is lovely and the setting is idyllic. Short driving distances to all Traverse City activities and groceries. Hosts were wonderful and went out of their way to ensure our stay was fulfilling. This was a working vacation for my husband, 3 weeks long, and the wifi kept up with all of the video meetings and remote work demands. The river is beautiful and our family thrived. We can't wait to return.

Matthew C. - 6/25/2021

 

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Private cabin

It was nice to have the owner walk us around the property when we arrived. The cabin is quirky but great. It's stocked with everything you need in terms of essentials. There is a limitless supply of firewood for the indoor fireplace and the fire pit. We spent three full days here and barely left the property because it was so awesome. If you're looking for something private/secluded, you won't find anything better. Plenty of room to go exploring and our dog has never spent so much time roaming free outside.

Robert L. - 6/1/2021

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

50th Birthday Getaway

My wife and I celebrated her 50th birthday during this stay. It was everything we had hoped for and more! It was a surprise so she had not seen pictures and was so excited when we pulled up. The property and the house are beautiful and extremely well maintained. It was quiet, peaceful and so relaxing by the river. Our dogs enjoyed it just as much. And our host was delightful and wanted to make sure we had a wonderful stay. We will definitely be returning! Highly recommend!

Brian R. - 5/17/2021

✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Beautiful, secluded, very personal

This property was wonderful, offered a lot such as a basket ball hoop, horseshoes, fire pit, and a gas grill along with a backyard table set.  My personal favorite were the chairs that sat along the river where my dog enjoyed the swimming.

Amy F. - 04/29/2021

 

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Idyllic Cabin in the Woods

We could not have envisioned a more perfect location for a winter weekend away. Jason and Nicole's cabin is everything you could want in a charming, cozy, clean, and spacious cabin in the woods. We spent many hours fishing in the Boardman River right next to the cabin and watching the snow fall by the fire. Jason greeted us upon arrival and was beyond gracious and accommodating. We cannot wait to go back! Thank you for everything.

Todd M. - 02/22/2021

 

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Weekend Getaway + Engagement!

Jason is a fantastic host, and graciously showed us the cabin when we arrived, which is BEAUTIFUL and full of charm. It has everything you need including a well-stocked kitchen, satellite TV, a large, stone fireplace and a backyard that faces a serene river. It was just what my girlfriend and I needed to relax and recharge. So much so, in fact, that I proposed to her while we were walking down by the river and she said yes!! We’ll definitely be back someday to revisit the special place where it all happened. 😊

Eric S. - 02/16/2021

 

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Relaxing and cozy

Wonderful hospitality on top of cozy rustic charm was the formula for a relaxing get away! Hope to spend more time at this place soon.

Steve R., Ohio - 01/31/2021

 

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Beautiful retreat

Brought my family up for the weekend to this beautiful property. The house was very cozy, plenty of space, and all the amenities we could have wanted. We used the fire pit by the river frequently. It made for some great pictures with the snowfall. Wood was stocked up and had absolutely no complaints about the property. Property owners went above and beyond to meet me and my family on arrival to show us around and get the fire going for us. Amazing hospitality. I have recommended this place to many friends and would reconsider visiting in the summer.

Endri L. - 01/17/2021

 

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Perfection!

Our stay was brief, but so satisfying! From the comfy furniture & cozy decor to snowy dog walks along the river, we greatly enjoyed the rich character of the lodge! The location is great and we had all we needed (and more!) in the way of creature comforts. We were able to truly relax! It was nice to hear more about the cabin and its history upon arrival, too; what a special place! Thanks again to J&N for being so very accommodating. We definitely plan to return!

Katie H. - 01/16/2021

 

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Perfect

Words can’t express how wonderful and cozy and simply perfect our family vacation was. Jason and Nicole are so thoughtful and responded immediately to any questions we had. The cabin is perfect both inside and out. Very clean and stocked with all accessories and plenty of firewood which we enjoyed to it’s fullest. Wonderful family memories made that we will never forget. Thank you for being amazing hosts and allowing us to stay at this cabin. We WILL be back :))

Sherri H., Brighton, MI - 10/18/2021

 

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Fall Trip

This was an incredible weekend. We all needed to go someplace quiet and peaceful after experiencing the tragic death of one of our children. We all got to sit around the fire at night and tell stories, and bond again. Everything was perfect and couldn’t have been better! The hosts have everything you need here, and the outdoors is breathtaking! We will be back for sure!

Jennifer M. - 10/05/2020

 

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Perfect River Cabin

We had a secluded and quirt stay. Fly fished for trout in the river, hiked in the woods, played with our dogs and just relaxed. Beautiful fireplace with plenty of firewood provided. The cabin is well apportioned, comfortable and beautifully restored, decorated with antiques.

James & Diane M. - 09/30/2020

 

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Two thumbs up!

We enjoyed 5 wonderful nights at Shadowland River Lodge. It was the perfect home base for us to enjoy sites in the TC area, and to also take advantage of the beautiful setting along the Boardman River! Sitting around the fire pit with a glass of wine and listening to the river was awesome – and a great break to just chill and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Jason and Nicole graciously met us when we arrived and introduced us to their lovely home. The online pictures represent the house very well and we couldn’t have been more pleased with our choice to stay there. As vacation home owners ourselves, we appreciated all of the attention to details and amenities to make sure we had everything needed to enjoy the stay. We’d love to return one day in the winter as I’m sure it’s gorgeous after a nice snowfall. If only we’d caught a fish in the river…!

Mike C. - 09/11/2020

 

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Great location

The owners are very kind and met us upon arrival. We found this a very nice touch. The outside property is great for campfires and the creek was fun to catch frogs and fly fish. Great area for kids and adults. Close to lakes and town.

Mark C. - 08/24/2020

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Can't Wait to Go Back!

The owners are warm and welcoming, the property is beautiful, and the cabin is clean and well-stocked. Would highly recommend!

Anonymous - 08/18/2020

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Simple Pleasures!

This VRBO experience was wonderful! My husband and I took our dog and four college- aged kids to this cabin and really enjoyed it. Having coffee by the river was such a peaceful way to start the day. We had breakfast as a family and then the kids launched the kayaks right from the property and were off on their adventures! We fished, hiked Sleeping Bear Dunes, and swam in Torch Lake. We ended the day with campfires. Was such a great way to escape and reconnect. Hosts were very accommodating.

Diane F. - 08/14/2020

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

GLEF Week

We had such a lovely stay at the Shadowland River Lodge.We were in Traverse City for the Great Lakes Equestrian Fest. It was so great to be 15 minutes from the show grounds plus 15 minutes from downtown TC. The property was beautiful and having a campfire next to the river each night was such a plus after a long day at the show grounds. Jason and Nicole had everything we needed for a great week in TC. They really take pride in the property and were very responsive when we had a couple of questions.

Rachael - L. - 07/27/2020

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Excellent Property

This was a great family get away, we all loved the location and the cabin on the river. Thank you for being great hosts :)

Bonnie J. - 07/21/2020

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Great cabin

We had an awesome time at the Shadowland River Lodge! Beautiful property and so much to do. And just a short drive to Travers City! We will definitely be going back!

Amy N. - 7/11/2020

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Tranquil Getaway

My family spent the week here over the Fourth of July and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquility that comes along with staying in a log cabin on the Boardman River. This is a fairly secluded location on a large, mostly wooded parcel, but 15-30 minutes from most places around Traverse City and Elk Rapids, the best of both worlds. I say mostly wooded, but there is plenty of space cleared and well maintained for camping, enjoying the river frontage, playing basketball, soccer, catch, etc. On the property, we caught rainbow trout in the river, kayaked from the adjacent state park, relaxed by the fire pit at night, and explored the woods. Outside of the property, we visited a winery, spent an afternoon at an orchard/cider mill, spent the day at the beach in Elk Rapids, and hung out in Traverse City (among other activities). Jason, our very friendly and accommodating host, met us at the cabin when we arrived and showed us around. The cabin was clean, very comfortable, and had just about everything we needed. Overall, we had a very nice stay. Note that the cabin does not have air conditioning, but even with 90 degree days in July, the cabin was comfortable to sleep in at night with a fan. Also, the Boardman River stretch between the cabin and the adjacent state park launch has a quick current and is in a natural state with downed trees, beaches, rocks, and riffles. While this makes for great fish habitat, if you aren’t an avid kayaker or don’t mind getting a little banged up, I would recommend launching from the state park and floating to Ranch Rudolf or the next public launch a few more miles downstream from the park.

Frederick D. - 7/6/2020
 

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Great respite with the kids and dog!

Very clean and comfortable home. My children and I really enjoyed a bit of rest and relaxation! Thank you

Mairead M. 6/18/2020

 ✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Relax and get away

Original log cabin in the woods. Perfect for a long weekend to unplug. We really enjoyed the fireplace and snowshoeing in the woods. Seems like the owners have thought of just about everything.
Jeff F.  - 02/17/2020

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Amazing spot on the Boardman

Everything about the property is perfect. The owners were great and met us at check in. They walked us through the whole property and even gave us the history, which we really appreciated. The house is well apportioned and suited our needs beyond expectations. The location is second to none, literally right on the Boardman. There are several great holes that should be full of Brookies come spring right in front of the property. We’ve already booked our stay for next year.

Sean G. - 11/03/2019

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Great Stay!

Jason and Nicole were great! They met me there and walked me through what was offered there. The lodge is even better than the pictures. Everyone who stayed there loved it. The outdoor experience was perfect. Between the Boardman River just feet away and the bonfires we had. I think everyone could agree that this was one of the best places we stayed for a family get together. Would do it again in a heartbeat!

Tim L.  - 10/29/2019

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Loved the location. Very relaxing. Highly recommend. Would stay again.

Place was extremely clean and we'll decorated. Has a very traditional cabin feel to it (which is a good thing). It's nice sitting around a campfire or fireplace at night and watching the river in the morning with a cup of tea. The host was extremely nice and even left a gift box. The only suggestion I would have is be mindful of the door to the loft. It's easy to lock yourself out of the room. No fault of the owner, just something to be aware of as there isn't a key to unlock it on site. Highly recommend this home!

Dylan I.  - 10/21/2019

Text Message

Good morning Jason.  We will be leaving this morning...dont want to!  What a beautiful place!  This is for sure a very special home. Thank you for the stay...so relaxing, clean, the amenities, and the grounds are unbelievable!  Many walks (even with the wild weather) makes this stay even more relaxing.  And also thank you for the Cherry Republic box and wine. Sooo very special, all of it!  Take care and it was a privilege staying here!

Dan K.  - 10/17/2019
 

 ✭✭✭✭✭ - VRBO

Beautiful riverside retreat

My husband and I spent a long 4 day weekend with our dog at this wonderful cabin. It was decorated beautifully, and came fully supplied with toiletries, linens, kitchenware etc. The owners, Jason & Nicole, met us at the cabin and gave us a brief yet thorough tour of the property and it’s amenities. The property site is in a huge clearing of the woods, set upon the bank of the Boardman River. We spent many hours sitting in chairs by the riverside, just relaxing and watching/listening to the water flow. It was exactly what we needed! We didn’t have a bonfire outside, but enjoyed a crackling fire inside every night. Multiple cords of wood were already cut and waiting for us. The cabin is amazing. The bed was so comfortable, and the walk-in shower was huge! The drive into Traverse City wasn't’ t too far, and we enjoyed a great meal at Red Ginger. Another night we went to dinner at LochenHeath golf club’s restaurant, where our friend Chef Eric Nittolo whips up a great menu. We also ate at two places close to the cabin that the owners recommended- McGee’s & Peegeeo’s. Both places were delicious. We loved this rental, and highly recommend it! We were excited to be the first renters, and hope to experience many more tranquil weekends at the Shadowland River Lodge.

Tamara G.  - 10/13/2019

bottom of page